A Man Of Constant Sorrow

O Brother, Where Art Thou?

An adaptation of Homer’s Odyssey set in 1930s Mississippi. A great soundtrack, brilliant screenplay and visually captivating. The Coen Brothers have yet to disappoint me. Come to think about it, we’re living in the age of David Fincher, Alfonso Cuaron, Christopher Nolan, Quentin Tarantino (and some people I know from the quizzing circuit will want to add Anurag Kashyap to that league) who are absolutely brilliant directors whose style of movie making is not recognised until it falls into the paradigm of what an award-winning movie ought to be. Even Danny Boyle, for that matter. I’m surprised this didn’t win Best Picture at the Oscars. I guess it’s not serious enough. Which is ironical, considering the source of the title of this hyaar picture. A couple of quotes, if I may be permitted:

Ulysses: Deceitful, two-faced she-woman. Never trust a female Delmar, remember that one simple precept and your time with me will not have been ill spent.
Delmar O’Donnell: Ok, Everett.
Ulysses: Hit by a train! Truth means nothing to a woman, Delmar. Trying for the subjective. You ever been with a woman?
Delmar O’Donnell: Well, I… I… I gotta get the family farm back before I can start thinking about that.
Ulysses: That’s right, if then. Believe me Delmar, woman is the most fiendish instrument of torture ever devised to bedevil the days of man.


Pete: Well hell, it ain’t square one! Ain’t nobody gonna pick up three filthy, unshaved hitch-hikers, and one of them a know-it-all that can’t keep his trap shut.
Ulysses: Pete, the personal rancor reflected in that remark I don’t intend to dignify with comment. But I would like to address your general attitude of hopeless negativism. Consider the lilies of the goddamn field or… hell! Take at look at Delmar here as your paradigm of hope.
Delmar O’Donnell: Yeah, look at me.

I’m not gonna wax eloquently about the movie. I’m not in the mood. But I will put up a couple of videos. Btw, who wouldn’t run towards those sirens. Hot-damn! Them syreens just make yer wanna whip yer moe-rals off and start a-fornicatin’!

Speaking of moe-rals, The Batra Being and I had an interesting conversation, replete with puns (as always) about exactly what character trait we possess that single-handedly manages to negate our chances for success. The gist is not dissimilar to this post, though the conversation was funnier. What I need is a secretary to write down things I dictate, as the words that proceed forth from my mouth tend to be far more endowed with eloquence than the crap I type on a keyboard. Or maybe I ought to work on around 10,000 hours of writing (Malcolm Gladwell, you better be right about this!)

Oh, the videos:

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Film, Music, Random, Reviews

Leave a Reply

