The Interpreter Of Dreamy Maladies

There are times in your life when you can do little else but stare into the mirror and after the intial gag reflex, wonder… “WTF?!”

I am bored, busy, exasperated and extrapolated all at the same time. And to top it all, i had an unusual subconscious encounter last night. (this is starting to sound like South Park’s pilot episode…)

I dreamed that i was having a heated discussion with 4 people. They were, in clockwise order of their seating relative to me; Steven Levitt, Ramachandra Guha, Stephen Hawking and Venom. The topic of discussion was me. And what I should do with my life. I woke up with the realization that I am a “3-year-degree guy” and should not be ashamed of it.

Anyway, enough aboot me. How’ve you been?

P.S: I write a lengthy review of a rotting, piece of fecal matter that tries to parade itself as a movie, i.e. Pirates of The Carribean:3 and yet, I haven’t written a word aboot any of the movies I have had the opportunity to finally see. So, I guess the best way I can get myself ou of this 7-month-old bout of the block is to write reviews for The Dark Knight, Citizen Kane, Dr. Strangelove, A Clockwork Orange, Casablanca, Munich, Se7en etc etc.

Excelsior!

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Crap Rating- *****, Life, Random, Rants, Why Life Sucks

4 responses to “The Interpreter Of Dreamy Maladies

  1. OMG! Quite a dreamer you are!

  2. A Clockwork Orange? Sitting through it must be an achievement.

  3. (Oh, sorry it got published while I was still writing).. I just meant I couldn’t complete ACO. Somewhere in the middle of it I realized there indeed was stuff I couldn’t watch humans doing even in a movie.

    But, well, good to see another fan of Cyanide and happiness! 🙂

  4. @ Vertigo Head:
    You don’t know the half of it!

    @T.I.:
    A Clockwork Orange was easily one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. It was part of this one weekend where I saw 2001: A Space Odyssey, A Clockwork Orange and Dr. Strangelove Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love The Bomb (the 2nd and 3rd were premieres for me. ‘2001…’ has been seen at least 5-6 times) cemented Stanley Kubrick has my favorite Director. Full Metal Jacket is all that remains.

    And A Clockwork Orange is not for the squeamish. It has no place for sentiment (I think that’s evident from the scene where Alex rapes a woman in front of her husband while singing and dancing to ‘Singin’ In The Rain’. Or the acts of violence and sexual brutality committed to a background score of Beethoven’s 9th Symphony). It is a study into the deepest darkest corners of human nature, duh… but more importantly it asks the vital question: Is it correct to coerce someone to be good? Can morality be forced upon someone? And what they do to human beings in the movie is merely taking terms used metaphorically to describe what happens to us and making it literal.

Leave a Reply

