Absenteeism

Haven’t had time to do anything. All of a sudden, I have a packed social calendar! I have some commitments to fulfill right now, so the busy days don’t seem to have an end in sight.

But first! I’m going to home # 5 to “celebrate holi” with the folks.

In other news, I finally got to see ‘There Will Be Blood‘. An outstanding work of art and I am now pissed that no theater in Noida has the freaking brains, ‘nads or both to showcase this masterpiece! Though it’s an all-round brilliant effort, this movie rotates around the mind-buggeringly brilliant contributions of four people and it’s really thanks to them that the movie shines so amazingly. They are, in order:

  1. Daniel Day-Lewis: What a performance! I am in awe. Whoa! I mean, dude! There are times when a great performance can result in supporting actors’ performances looking mediocre in comparison. His acting made everyone else’s look good.
  2. Jonny Greenwood: This is NOT me being a fanboy! While most other composers would’ve tried to make the score some sort of an amalgamation of epic masterpiece suites, Jonny’s was far more freaky, scary and downright brilliant! He deserved every damn ‘Best Original Score’ award there is. But NOOO!!! It’s not “operatic” enough! Too freaky! Too different! Too experimental! Incompetent, short-sighted douchebags!
  3. Robert Elswit: Cinematography. He won the Academy Award for this. He deserves it. ‘Nuff said.
  4. Paul Thomas Anderson: The Director. It takes an extraordinary director to bring out such an amazing work of art and more importantly, bring out the best in his cast. Which he has.

Anyway, I feel Writer’s Bloc on me. So look to the right. See those pretty links? Click away.

4 Comments

Filed under Anything Seriously Anything

4 responses to “Absenteeism

  1. You forgot to mention another brilliant character – albeit I was not in the movie, you would not have been able to feast your eyes on this classic without me !

    Writer’s block / bloc is such a bitch, I hate congestions too.

  2. anupam guha

    Well you have found one more reader Mr. Alagappa…

Leave a Reply

