Stephen’s, Satanism and Cycling

I heard Coldplay again!!!

Three days of non-stop travel, quizzing, speaking and cycling!

Thursday. NIFT. For the first time in my second year, I did not qualify for a quiz held at a college fest (IMS doesn’t count!) It was a very strange prelim round and a stranger quiz (one word explanation: Parnab). Expect the blokes at The NSIT Quiz Club have it reviewed and done with. I did have a good time though, which was unexpected. My first impression of NIFT was… for a premier institute, this place is small! However, I found the crowd to be an eclectic mix of eccentric people who oddly have an extraordinary level of tolerance towards me. I actually saw a street play and choreography competition. The choreography thing was… strange. The dance drama, or whatever it’s called, by the home college was something that required hueblos to perform and I doubt if most colleges in this conservative land of ours would’ve allowed it.

Saturday. St. Stephen’s. An error was made. I thought the debate was on saturday. Turns out it was on friday and I missed it. Missed the deadline for the Paper Presentation too. Damnations! There was a Science JAM, though, which I duly won. More importantly, the DMRC allows you to rent cycles at ten bucks for four hours to roam around DU which is precisely what I did. There are things which other people might be embarressed to do. Being 6 ft 2 inches tall and riding a cycle might be one of those things. But there I was, enjoying the breeze, the foliage and whatever sunshine that managed to break through it whilst listening to Coldplay. Yes! I can listen to Coldplay again!

Sunday. Stephen’s again.  Science quiz. Very little physics, which pissed me off. Managed a respectable 2nd (again!) thanks to some super-connects courtesy Jaideep Shankar Jagannathan of NSIT. This was followed by more DU exploration on the two-wheeled man-powered vehicle and an “Absurd Theory” competition, where I made up a last minute presentation on my theory that ‘St. Stephen’s College is satanic’. I used the arguments regarding the five-pointed star logo and showed that an anagram of the bus stop sign that reads ‘Saint Stephan’ is in fact, ‘Satan n his pet’. 2nd place. Not bad, seeng that I lost to teams that had been preparing and gave Powerpoint Presentations while all I used was a whiteboard. Yes! I can lecture! The prize money for these exploits was just about enough to pay Bhasin off, so no profits in hand. “Science students don’t care about money, it’s the thrill of discovery and the thirst for knowledge that drives them.” I hate that stupid belief. I need money, you bastards!

And I have college to attend now. Great!

IIT-Delhi’s having ‘Literati’, which includes a play and song writing competitions. Interesting…

Oh, btw. I think I’m telekinetic or telepathic or something. Reason: I has this strange sensation of a Euphoria song playing in my head when the band was actually performing elsewhere. Now, was the song the same? Hmm… I wonder.

4 Comments

Filed under "Zapped", Anything Seriously Anything, Don't bother about categories, just don't.

4 responses to “Stephen’s, Satanism and Cycling

  1. Natansh

    WARNING: IIT Delhi’s Literary Fest can be harmful to your literary appetite.

    If you cometh, then be warned
    it hath none of the grandeur.
    O my man, there is no ban
    but it is by far mediocre.

  2. Harish vs. IIT – A limerick.
    By Nimish Batra.

    Oh Fatboyhairy, he goeth to fest,
    But this be IIT, it is no jest,
    When you get there,
    go with a maiden fare,
    for then your auto-rickshaw is at rest.

    _finis_

    PS for killjoys: maiden fare maiden fair.
    Yes. A pun.

  3. ‘Hehe’ and I might I add a ‘Haha’ – Well done, pat on the back for letting them know. So that is one thing that can be struck of the list. Your list and mine, though I would love to follow it up someday.
    Also, this theory would be better suited for the TPP. It seems true and technical too.

    Next stop Aye Aye Tea. Let the have it, let THEM have it !! This is Aye Aye Tea !!

    Telepathic ? .. Not quite, telepathetic would be more like it – It is in keeping with your love for your phone.

Leave a Reply

