The Unbearable Lightness of Being… ME!

Are you dead? Do you have no feelings? You’re just EVIL!
~ A 13-year old girl at Bethany High. (My friend remarked, “Evil… thy name is Harish!”)

Harish, sometimes you’re so… cold. As if what hurts everyone else does nothing to you. It’s frightening.
~ My High School English teacher’s most passionate assessment of me.

In theory, I should feel hurt.

In theory.

If I were like everyone else, I’d be devastated.

If I were like everyone else.

“It is a fool’s prerogative to utter truths that no one else will speak.” ~ Neil Gaiman.

I’ve always maintained that.

Ladies and Gentlemen, let’s get one thing VERY clear here. I do not fear the truth. Nicholson’s famous line does not apply to me. Pessimistic? No. I’m a realist. The world’s a pretty fucked up place. Knowing where you stand, keeping your ego out of the equation and building what my roommate calls, “The Great Titanium Wall Of Alagappa” around yourself pays. That’s why I’m not hurt. That’s why I can shrug my shoulders and go, “Eh. Whatever.” and move on.

By Jove, am I proud of that!

Harish to Life: “Is that all you got? Pfft! Come on, buddy… Is that ALL YOU GOT???”

Leave a comment

Filed under "Zapped", As Porf. Frink says..., Be Afraid, be VERY Afraid, I need a boot to the head..., Internetione', Life, Phil0s0phy, Prophecies of Doom, Random, Rants, Relationshits, School, Subsiste Sermonem Statim, Taureum Excretae, The Bullshit Is Out There, This concerns YOU!, Unsolicited solicitor of advice, Why Life Sucks

Leave a Reply

